NO CASINOS FOR THIS MARKETER
15 August 2008
Painful experience for Sting Marketing
The management at US-based Sting Marketing Inc found
they had disturbed a hornet's nest when they tried to
use the brand of an industry veteran in a domain
registration, according to the results of a World
Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) investigation
recently.
Case D2008-0869 records that the Isle of Man based
online gambling software developer and turnkey provider
Microgaming took exception to the registration of the
domain casinos-microgaming.com, triggering an
arbitration process to which the registrant failed to
respond at any point, thus losing the case - and the
domain.
In a finding dated July 22 WIPO arbitrator Alistair
Payne ordered the transfer of the domain to Microgaming
following a decision based on:
1. The Complainant had demonstrated that the Respondent
is neither related to the Complainant nor authorised to
use the Complainant’s trade marks in any way. As the
Respondent’s registration occurred nearly ten years
after the Complainant’s first use of the MICROGAMING
trademark, the Panel considers that the registration of
a domain name containing such a well-known trade mark in
the area of online casinos and gaming related software
combined with the descriptive and industry related word
“casinos” is evidence of intended use in bad faith; and
2. The Respondent has failed to explain on two occasions
the reasons why he registered the Disputed Domain Name.
Firstly in failing to respond to the Complainant’s cease
and desist letter and secondly by failing to file a
Response in this administrative proceeding. In these
circumstances, the Panel infers that the Respondent
never intended any bona fide use for the Disputed Domain
Name beyond the directory web site that is currently
displayed.
For the reasons stated above, the Panel is satisfied
that the Disputed Domain Name was registered and used in
bad faith. As such, paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy is
satisfied.
For all the foregoing reasons, in accordance with
paragraphs 4(i) of the Policy and 15 of the Rules, the
Panel orders that the Domain Name <casinos-microgaming.com>
be transferred to the Complainant.
The action indicates the increasing determination of
well established and successful online gambling
companies to defend the integrity of their brands.
Online Casino News courtesy of
InfoPowa
More news here.
Top of page |
Home |
News |
Forum |
Webcast |
Vortran |
Accredited Casinos |
Evil Ones |
Pitch a Bitch |
Partner Links |
Poker
|